Cracking the DRM on Kindle ebooks

I recently bought a book through Amazon because their price was ridiculously cheaper than the competition’s.

Of course their crazy DRM prevented me from using the book on my open and friendly Boox reader, but then I found Alf the Apprentice’s tools on his blog.

I used Calibre, Wine and the Windows version of Kindle’s reader software, and only, oh, ten minutes of fiddling later I could actually read the book I bought.

It shames me to think how much time someone who isn’t used to the byzantine horrors of DRM might have to waste.

Super customer-friendly, that. Now go crack some ebooks.

Leave a Reply

