Emergency escape from planet Typo

Until about half an hour ago, I was a relatively happy user of the [Typo](http://www.typosphere.org) blogging engine. However, there are a few things about Typo that have started to not smell right to my nose. Their Trac is taken offline, the typosphere.org page has been saying “coming soon!” for several months and upgrading to the latest svn version has destroyed all comments in my Typo blog. Granted, the migration warned that I should backup my database, which I did, but for the moment I decided I just don’t have time to live on the bleeding edge. Without a working Trac, it becomes hard to follow Typo’s development. I don’t want to have to run a three tier architecture just to thoroughly test upgrades to my blogging system before I roll them out.

So for the time being, I’ve converted to WordPress. [Stuart Johnston’s conversion scripts](http://ctrlclick.co.uk/articles/2006/06/26/automatic-migration-from-typo-to-wordpress/) helped me move from Typo to WordPress. If you use them, keep in mind that they were made for Typo 2.x. If you try to migrate a Typo 4.x setup, you’ll have to rename Typo’s “categorizations” table to “articles_categories” and do some fiddling with the post and comment counters.

Since I’m used to Markdown, I’ve found [Michel’s PHP Markdown plug-in](http://www.michelf.com/projects/php-markdown/) for WordPress quite useful, too.

Oh, and please bear with me while I write a new WordPress theme. This migration came quite unplanned,

1 thought on “Emergency escape from planet Typo”

Leave a Reply

